All-you-can-eat restaurant owners have hit back at a customer’s ‘contemptuous’ review on TripAdvisor

Owners of an all-you-can-eat restaurant have hit back at a ‘nasty’ TripAdvisor review – after a customer described staff as ‘very rude’ and complained they had been moved. The buffet restaurant has previously been praised for its “excellent” staff and “very relaxed atmosphere” – but not all diners agreed.

One complained of being greeted by “rude and brusque” staff. They also claimed they were told to move tables halfway through the meal.

Blackpool’s Gurkha buffet restaurant responded by telling the complainant he was no longer welcome to eat there. In response to the negative review, he pointed out that English is the second language of the staff member who was the subject of the complaint, Lancs Live reports.

The restaurant serves a variety of dishes, including Chinese, Indian, Nepalese and Thai dishes. It has fixed prices with adults charged less than £16 on peak days.

The disgruntled guest, who visited in March, called the restaurant “Terrible”. They wrote: “We were met at the door, a woman behind reception very rude and abrupt told us we had to move the tables halfway through the meal as the table was then reserved, the food was far from to be as good as it was in the past, very VERY disappointed.”

The owners of the Gurkha decided to clarify some things in their response – telling the customer that their review was ‘prejudicial’. They also said the move was to a “bigger, nicer and more private table”.

They wrote: “We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent dining experience at Gurkha. The receptionist informed me of the situation, however, we did not expect to receive a bad review from you because you didn’t complain on time or report it to the manager.

“We are also sorry that you found the receptionist to be rude and abrupt – unfortunately, English being her second language, we understand that it can sometimes be perceived that way. We apologize for asking you to move the tables 50 minutes later, however, please be reminded that we were actually asking you to move to a larger, nicer and more private table by the window.

“To make up for the inconvenience, we even informed you that you could stay longer beyond the 90-minute dining limit, which you declined. In fact, a woman in your group told us ‘no, that okay, we’re done anyway’ This led us to believe that you were all ok with that, especially with us being a buffet where customers are required to get up, move around and help themselves to whatever way, so it would have just been a matter of going back to another table (which was nearby).

“We believe this review is unfair, written out of spite, and does not accurately reflect the events of the evening. You had every opportunity to complain, but you did not, and you have nothing mentioned about the quality of the food when paying your bill.

“In the future, we hope that you allow restaurants to sort out any issues you may have before writing a harmful and negative review online. Please also know that you are no longer welcome at Gurkha. We hope that you have a good day.”

Many previous guests have praised the quality of the food at the restaurant which is currently rated 4.5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor. Out of 439 reviews, 335 guests rated their stay at The Gurkha as “Excellent” and 53 as “Very good”. Some of the most recent have been five-star reviews, praising the buffet restaurant.

One customer wrote: “Staff were excellent and very attentive, tables were clean and tidy, empty plates were removed by the time you returned with your next dish. The food was excellent and piping hot. Good choice and lots of options for kids.

“The Lamb Gurkha curry was amazing but not for the faint hearted as it has a great kick. The decor is great with lots of Gurkha memorabilia and war memorabilia.

“Very relaxed atmosphere, you won’t be disappointed. We are going back this week in Blackpool and looking forward to another great meal with family and friends.”

Another happy diner commented: “We were visiting Blackpool for the weekend and were craving some good food. This was the best buffet restaurant we have ever been to. Food was hot. Not lukewarm. Great selection . Friendly staff. Relaxed and pleasant atmosphere.”

Meanwhile, another happy customer wrote, “8 of us went to the buffet on Wednesday March 18. Some of our party had never had Nepali/Indian food but really enjoyed their meals and had chance to try something different. Staff were very attentive and helpful. Good value for money and well worth a visit.”

About Michael B. Billingsley

Check Also


Las Vegas’ iconic dive bar, the Hard Hat Lounge, is officially in the hands of …